Grimwood: Laugh your head off with the funniest new series of the year

£3.49

Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations › View or edit your browsing history After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.

Description

  • As an Ama­zon Asso­ciate, I earn from qual­i­fy­ing purchases.
  • As an affil­i­ate for Click­Bank, I earn from qual­i­fy­ing purchases.
  • We pro­mote our sell­er’s prod­ucts to you all secure­ly on each part­ner’s website.
  • So all the prod­ucts on our web­site are not owned by (PARTNER ONLINE STORE) all prod­ucts come direct­ly from (AMAZON) & (CLICKBANK). We dont have phys­i­cal prod­ucts, all phys­i­cal prod­ucts come from our part­ners. so you get sent direct­ly from (AMAZON) & (CLICKBANK) (GUARANTEED!).

Product description

Review

Glo­ri­ous­ly anar­chic, prop­er­ly fun­ny and high­ly illus­trat­ed with dynam­ic black-and-white art, this is a quirky delight for chil­dren – and their par­ents, too.   ― The Book­seller

Fun­ny, anar­chic, orig­i­nal and glo­ri­ous­ly sil­ly. — Richard Osman

This book made my face hurt! Relent­less­ly fun­ny. — Rob Biddulph

Like Water­ship Down, but fun­ny. You’ll laugh hys­ter­i­cal­ly on every page. — Caitlin Moran

Fan­tas­tic — Lau­ren Laverne

Fizzes with mad ener­gy. Bril­liant­ly addic­tive. — Phil Ear­le, author of When the Sky Falls

Pure genius! — Louie Stowell

Made us laugh out loud — Jim Smith, author of Bar­ry Loser

You’re in for a treat! — Selom Sunu, illus­tra­tor of Look Both Ways

Utter­ly HILARIOUS — Sophy Henn, author-illus­tra­tor of Pizazz

I want to be friends with Ted and Wil­low! — Eliza, age 7

The fun­ni­est book ever! I loved it! — Georgie, age 9

From the Back Cover

Per­fect for fans of Mr Gum and The Ani­mals of Far­thing Wood, this hilar­i­ous, irrev­er­ent series from pic­ture book super­star Nadia Shireen fol­lows two urban fox­es who escape to the won­der­ful­ly weird for­est of Grim­wood! ‘Fun­ny, anar­chic, orig­i­nal and glo­ri­ous­ly sil­ly.’ ― Richard Osman ‘Ted and Nan­cy are my favourite fun­ny fox­es EVER.’ ― Liz Pichon, author of Tom Gates ‘I CACKLED ALOUD on prac­ti­cal­ly every page. Com­ic gold, tinged with such ten­der­ness.’ ― Kiran Mill­wood Har­grave ‘Grim­wood is like Win­nie-the-Pooh writ­ten by the Pythons, and so mad­ly inven­tive and fun­ny I was howl­ing with laugh­ter by the third page. This is about to become a fun­da­men­tal part of 21st cen­tu­ry child­hood’ ―​ Caitlin Moran Laugh your head off with this ful­ly-illus­trat­ed new series from award-win­ning Nadia Shireen. Per­fect for read­ers age 7 to 107, fans of Dog Man, Roald Dahl, Mr Gum and David Wal­liams, and any­one who loves to laugh. Fox cub sib­lings Ted and Nan­cy are on the run from Princess But­tons, the scari­est street cat in the Big City. They flee for Grim­wood, expect­ing to find refuge in the peace­ful coun­try­side. Instead, they are met with thiev­ing eagles, dra­mat­ic ducks, riotous rab­bits and a whole host of unusu­al char­ac­ters. Grim­wood is … weird. But when Princess But­tons tracks them down, Nan­cy and Ted and the ani­mals of Grim­wood must unite in a mind-bend­ing race against time … This mem­o­rable, dis­tinc­tive and warm-heart­ed com­e­dy series will have kids beg­ging to read more. And don’t miss Grim­wood: Five Freak­ish­ly Fun­ny Fables — a spe­cial Grim­wood World Book Day adven­ture for only £1. Avail­able now! Nadia Shireen has won awards for her pic­ture books includ­ing the UKLA Book Award for Good Lit­tle Wolf, and her lat­est, Bar­bara Throws a Wob­bler, has been described as a ‘lit­tle door­way of joy’ by Caitlin Moran. She’s also been short­list­ed for the Roald Dahl Fun­ny Prize and the Water­stones Chil­dren’s Book Prize, and has been Writer-Illus­tra­tor in Res­i­dence for Book­Trust. Grim­wood is her first series for old­er readers.

About the Author

Nadia Shireen has been described as one of the ‘best and bright­est pic­ture book cre­ators work­ing in Britain today.’ (The Observ­er.) Her debut pic­ture book Good Lit­tle Wolf received a men­tion in the Bologna Ragazzi Opera Pri­ma Award and won the UKLA Book Award. Oth­er books include The Bum­ble­bear, which was dis­trib­uted to over 700,000 chil­dren as part of Book­trust’s Time To Read cam­paign, as well as Bil­ly and the Beast and Bil­ly and the Drag­on. Nadia has been short­list­ed for the Roald Dahl Fun­ny Prize and the Water­stones Chil­dren’s Book Prize, and has been Writer-Illus­tra­tor in Res­i­dence for Book­Trust. Her first book in the Grim­wood series was pub­lished in 2021, with the sec­ond due to be released in 2022. She lives in London.

From the Publisher

Grimwood
Grimwood
Grimwood

  • Ama­zon and the Ama­zon logo are trade­marks of Amazon.com, Inc, or its affiliates.
  • Click­Bank and the Click­Bank logo are trade­marks of ClickBank.com, Inc, or its affil­i­ates, and sellers.

Additional information

Dimensions 13 × 1.7 × 19.8 cm
Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens UK 3 Mar. 2022

Language

English

Paperback

240 pages

ISBN-10

1471199312

ISBN-13

978-1471199318

Reading age

7 years and up

Dimensions

13 x 1.7 x 19.8 cm

Reviews

  1. Becky C

    Very high­ly rec­om­mend­ed by my daugh­ter 10/10This book comes very high­ly rec­om­mend­ed by my 7 year old daugh­ter who says she gives it 10/10!‘It was about some fox­es called Nan­cy and Ted and a mean cat called Princess But­tons. She always tries to get Nan­cy and Ted. It’s very fun­ny! The fun­ni­est part is when the Wood­louse says “I’ll be pop­ping up every­where but usu­al­ly I’m a bus dri­ver” My favourite part was when Princess But­tons tried to zap Nan­cy with the brain zap­per! I also loved the pictures.’

  2. LA

    Fan­tas­tic for kids and par­entsI love read­ing this to my kids and they thought it was fan­tas­tic. I bought this after Shireen’s book Bar­bara Throws A Wob­bler became a fam­i­ly favourite and Grim­wood does­n’t dis­ap­point. Its fun­ny, sil­ly, well-paced and just grue­some enough to appeal to kids with­out scar­ing them.

  3. James, Lon­don.

    Small peo­ple find this hilar­i­ous.My daugh­ters have demand­ed I read this to them. It’s quite good. It has squir­rels in leo­tards and a real­ly hor­ri­ble cat, so you have to get it I’ve been told.

  4. CrazyS­mi­ley­Mum­my

    Bril­liant­ly fun­ny sto­ryFan­tas­tic sto­ry. I meant to just down­load the sam­ple to get a feel for the book to see if my 7 year old would enjoy it, how­ev­er I acci­den­tal­ly down­loaded the whole book. I’m so glad I did as I’ve real­ly enjoyed it and the char­ac­ters are just bril­liant. A per­fect bit of much need­ed escapism at the moment!Now I can’t wait to read it to my son. He real­ly loved read­ing the Grim­wood World Book Day book and is des­per­ate to start read­ing this book as soon as possible.

  5. Mr. R. G. Hanna

    Hilar­i­ous and a fresh styleMy chil­dren (5 and 8) loved this book — and I had almost as much fun read­ing it to them. Gen­uine­ly fun­ny and well writ­ten. I hope to see more from this author in the future.

  6. ART­Teach

    A delightJust absolute­ly great. A fab read for the fam­i­ly. LOVED it.

  7. mummahub22

    Great funFun for allMy grand­sons age 10 and 7 loved it

  8. Miss S Gallagher

    Fan­tas­ticI always buy Nadia Shireen for my niece. Great now that my niece is get­ting old­er to be able to buy this for her

  9. Susan

    Good book.Good book.

  10. Paul Diomede

    Liked by 8 year old boy8 year old boy enjoyed read­ing this book. Wants more by the same author. First prop­er book he was able to read by himself

Add a review

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.